Further Information

The Lets-Talk.co IAPT Service is part of the government’s Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) initiative. To find out more about this national programme visit www.iapt.nhs.uk.

We provide talking therapy and guided self-help to people with mild, moderate and severe common mental health difficulties such as stress, anxiety and depression. The service is available to adults (over 16) who are registered with a GP in Barnet, Enfield or Haringey.

Stepped care

IAPT is a stepped care system. This means that following an assessment we provide patients with the least burdensome effective treatment necessary for their recovery. Periodic reviews with patients mean that they can be “stepped up” for a more complex intervention if necessary.

The stepped care model that IAPT uses has 5 steps as outlined below (using depression as an example). Each step represents increased complexity of intervention.

Step 1 Recognition in primary care and general hospital settings

Step 2 Treatment of mild depression in primary care

Step 3 Treatment of moderate to severe depression in primary care

Step 4 Treatment of depression by mental health specialists

Step 5 Inpatient treatment for depression

IAPT provides therapy for patients who need Step 2 or Step 3 treatments for anxiety or depression. If, following assessment, patients are judged to need more complex interventions than can be offered in primary care, then these patients are referred onwards to mental health specialists in secondary care.